Pioneering Chesterford Research Park occupiers feature in Cambridge science and tech awards shortlist

Chesterford-based NodThera and Cambridge Epigenetix have been named as finalists in the Cambridge Independent Science and Technology Awards 2019.

NodThera, which uses small molecule inhibitors to treat inflammatory and neuroinflammatory diseases caused by inappropriate activation of the immune system, has made it through to the final five in the Biotech Company of the Year category. It completed a £28m Series A round last year and is poised to accelerate multiple compounds through development.

Cambridge Epigenetix has made the shortlist in the MedTech Company of the Year category for its pioneering work and unrivalled capabilities in harnessing epigenetic insights which will unleash the potential of precision medicine. Its proprietary technology aims to reduce diagnostic tests for diseases including cancer to a blood draw, using the 5hmC epigenetic modification as a powerful biomarker. The initial focus is on colorectal cancer.

Katherine Maguire, Park Manager, said: “Well done to all of this year’s shortlisted finalists. The high calibre of entrants highlights the skills, determination and innovation in and around the Cambridge Cluster and we’re delighted to see NodThera and Cambridge Epigenetix recognised for the contribution they make - not only to the wider scientific community but on their potential to improve the quality of life of patients worldwide with their revolutionary technology and expertise.

“Chesterford Research Park is proud to be home to companies that make a real difference. Every day, our innovative scientists, inventors and entrepreneurs work side by side at the Park at all stages of development in an environment that offers a flexible range of accommodation and support.”

Chesterford Research Park is the sponsor of this year’s Biotech Company of the Year category. The finalists are:   

  • Astex Pharmaceuticals
  • Avacta Group
  • NodThera
  • PhoreMost
  • STORM Therapeutics

All winners will be announced at the Bradfield Centre on 30 October 2019.